The church has been listed as a historical monument since 1972 and contains a treasure of polychrome wood carving.
The church of Saint-Benoit dates from the 12th century. It is one of the oldest Romanesque churches of the dawn whose architecture has not been altered, but it was restored in the 16th century and has a 16th century glass roof classified as a historical monument and representing the adoration of the shepherds.
Its chevet (the back comprising the heart and the apse), is flat and not rounded, testifying to the rural influence of sacred constructions in the countryside in the 12th century.
The monumental Christ on the Cross (1.82 x 1.74), dated from the last quarter of the 16th century, has been listed as a historical monument since 1911. The richness and delicacy of detail, the quality of assembly and carving, as well as its imposing size, bring intensity to the work and accompany the expression of Christ's restrained pain.
With eyes closed and eyebrows furrowed, the Christ on the Cross was intended to accompany the believers in their compassion and prayer.
Today recognized as a must-see work from the 16th century in Champagne, it was on display at the exhibition "The Beautiful 16th Century: Masterpieces of Sculpture in Champagne" presented in 2009 in the Saint-Jean-au-marché church in Troyes.
Hours of worship: Saturday at 6pm. Sunday at 9:30 am (not weekly).
Visit by appointment.
Free of charge.