Eglise Saint-Nicolas

Add to bookmark


Saint-Nicolas church was rebuilt in the 18th century following a destructive fire in 1690.

The stained glass windows date from the 19th century. Prugny boasts a wealth of furnishings, many of which are listed as historic monuments, from a 14th-century wooden Virgin and Child to three 19th-century carved and gilded wooden processional staffs. There's also a 16th-century gilded wooden statuette of Saint Evêque, and a host of 18th-century objects: the main altar in oak and faux marble, gilded and painted, a Christ on the Cross, a painted wooden medallion depicting the Annunciation, a painted and gilded Virgin and Child and an eagle-lutrin.